Isabella Tiger Moth

8129 - Pyrrharctia isabella - Isabella Tiger Moth (4)

Isabella Tiger Moth
Pyrrharctia isabella
Hodges #8129
Most habitats.
Spring through summer.
Male hindwings cream-yellow, female hindwings pink.

8129 - Pyrrharctia isabella - Isabella Tiger Moth

Isabella Moth (Wooly Bear Caterpillar)

Wooly Bear Caterpillar (Isabella Moth)

6 responses to “Isabella Tiger Moth

  1. One of my favorite caterpillars.

  2. A subtle beauty to this moth — maybe not so subtle when the female flashes her hindwing.

  3. Thanks for the comments, John and Marvin. I was delighted when I got my first one of these guys. The caterpillars are so common, but I’d never known what they became. Quite pretty moths, it turned out.

  4. I’m raising one right now…he just spun a cocoon. (Or she, I guess.) I didn’t know you could tell the genders apart or what they look like later on. I’m excited for him/her to emerge! lol

  5. we…sore…this…moth…in…hob…moor…school…it…is…beutifful

  6. HI, my daughter found one and wanted to keep it as a pet. We bought a small ‘lizard’ box, put in dirt, all kind of different plants, and sticks. We’ve had her/him since Saturday – it’s Friday (6 days) now and the caterpillar has changed overnight into cocoon … does anyone know how long it will take until she/he becomes a moth?

Leave a Reply

