Morrison’s Sallow

Morrison's Sallow

As one of my goals for the new year, I’d like to resume some sort of regular content on this blog. I started out last winter doing periodic “how-to” posts in moth identification and mothing in general. Those sort of fell by the wayside as I got busier in the spring. I don’t know that I want to commit to that level of content, though I’ll perhaps try to periodically do something appropriate to the season.

Instead, I thought I would try to post a photo of a moth a day, including its name and habitat. I take photos for all the moths I catch (quite often, these are what I use to identify them), and I’ve tallied some 500+ species now. So I should be able to post a unique species, without duplication, for probably two years when allowing for new additions I expect I’ll get over that same time period. And there’s so much diversity out there! I did try this last year, too, and did about four; I think I was a little over-ambitious with my accompanying text. So this will mostly just be a photo-based effort. I’ll link to the BugGuide.net species page where you can go for more info.

I didn’t know where to start; I have lots of favourites among my 500-odd species. So I took my spreadsheet of observations and created a randomized list of species. The one it picked as species #1 was the above, Morrison’s Sallow. Interestingly, this was also the first moth of the spring last year.

Morrison’s Sallow
Eupsilia morrisoni
Hodges #9936
Deciduous woods.
Late fall-early spring. Sometimes encountered on warm winter evenings.

6 responses to “Morrison’s Sallow

  1. I will be following as this is a new area for me to explore..this looks familiar…I will have to check my photos from last summer…Michelle

    • It can be a little addictive, Michelle! You may well have seen this guy. Morrison’s Sallow is a fairly common species, usually encountered in early spring and late fall, and occasionally on warm nights during winter.

  2. This ought to be a good series. Maybe I’ll learn to recognize some new moths.

    • There will certainly be some in here, John, that you’ll recognize the moment you see them in person. A few others will probably all look very similar to each other – yet another LBJ, as it were. At the very least I hope it will help illuminate some of the great diversity of these critters!

  3. Welcome back! I’m looking forward to this series (especially right now since who knows when I’ll get the first moth of the year).

    • Thanks, Jennifer! I’m starting to feel the onset of the January Itch, which always hits me about this time (The Marvelous in Nature was the result of the January Itch). Hopefully I can sustain this effort as well as I did TMiN. I got my first moth last year surprisingly early, March 6, I think. I was delighted to find it. I’ve got my fingers crossed that all this snow melts and we have some early fliers this year, too!

Leave a Reply

